Friday, 8 May 2015

District Council elections: the results

A total of 29 out of 32 wards were contested in the District Council elections:
Futures Forum: East Devon District Council elections: latest reports

By early this evening, all the results had been declared:

2015District Council elections results

2015 District Council elections results - East Devon

The result has been particularly dramatic in Sidmouth:

EDDC elections: It’s Independents day in Sidmouth

17:59 08 May 2015
Independents Matt Booth,David Barratt,John Dyson,Dawn Manley, Cathy Gardner and Marianne Rixson. Ref shs 3689-09-15TI. Picture: Terry Ife
Independents Matt Booth,David Barratt,John Dyson,Dawn Manley, Cathy Gardner and Marianne Rixson. Ref shs 3689-09-15TI. Picture: Terry Ife

Candidates also celebrate in Ottery St Mary and Newton Poppleford
Voters in Sidmouth have given Independent candidates their seal of approval - and in doing so sensationally shifted the long-standing grip Conservatives have had on the valley’s seven district council seats.
This year’s local elections were the first in the history of East Devon District Council (EDDC) to see an Independent challenge made for each of the parish’s representative posts.
And today’s results have seen six Tories ousted - with only the long-serving Stuart Hughes, a member since 1991, surviving.
The Sidmouth Town Ward saw a clean-sweep, with the East Devon Alliance’s (EDA) Matt Booth and Cathy Gardner - and Independent John Dyson - claim victory over a trio of Conservatives.
Frances Newth had sat on the district council for a decade, while Peter Sullivan and Sheila Kerridge lost their seats after a single term.
Independent David Barratt is the new representative for the Sidmouth Rural Ward - taking the seat of Conservative Christine Drew, who had served as a town and district councillor for 14 years.
In the Sidmouth/Sidford Ward, Graham Troman - a councillor since 2007 - lost his seat as another two members of the EDA, Dawn Manley and Marianne Rixson, celebreated success. Mr Hughes gained the most votes in the ward and retained his seat.
Independent candidates also caught the imaginations of voters in Newton Poppleford and Ottery St Mary - taking four of the five seats up for grabs.
The EDA’s Val Ranger is the new member for Newton Poppleford and Harpford.
Conservative Paul Carter landed a seat in the Ottery Rural Ward, which he will represent alongside fellow newcomer Matt Coppell of the EDA.
Independent Roger Giles will continue his many years of service in the Ottery St Mary Town Ward. Peter Faithful - also an Independent - will join him.
EDDC elections: It’s Independents day in Sidmouth - Election - Sidmouth Herald

See also:
EDDC: Independents oust Tories in Sidmouth Town - Election - Sidmouth Herald
EDDC elections: Victory for Barratt in Sidmouth Rural - Election - Sidmouth Herald
Hughes is last Tory as EDA wins in Sidmouth/Sidford - Election - Sidmouth Herald

No comments: